Digital Freedom – the manifesto is launched

Mikko Hypponen and David Hasselhoff have appeared on stage at re:publica 14 and launched the new Digital Freedom manifesto.

The manifesto is based on 4 points :

  1. Freedom from mass surveillance (target / blanket)
  2. Freedom from digital persecution (privacy in the future)
  3. Freedom from digital colonisation
  4. Freedom of digital access, movement and speech

 

I watched the keynote with interest and have the following thoughts :

Freedom from mass surveillance (target / blanket)

I appreciate that there is a time and place for surveillance. CCTV watches our every move and our internet traffic is scanned for key words. To remove this I believe would be a mistake – but instead, they should be more transparent instead. Go ahead, watch me and scan me … but only if you do something useful with this data to keep me safer. Sure I have secrets and sure, I am aware of what I post … but can you imagine a world where facial recognition does not pick up the criminals ? I think that there is a specific use case for mass surveillance, but it is currently not being handled well and certainly not following the same standard of disclosure globally.

Freedom from digital persecution (privacy in the future)

This I understand and totally support. Right now, May 2014, it is OK to have certain views, prejudices etc, but in 2020, will those standards still hold. Will my old opinion still be the same ? I once thought I was going to be an electrical engineer – that didn’t work out, so why should the opinions I have still hold ANY weight in the future ? We need to isolate a case, sure, look back in history to see if it a long-held opinion, but certainly not to use it to persecute in the future.

Freedom from digital colonisation

The lines between technology and our existence are more blurred than ever. With the Internet of Things, mobile tech etc … we see more intrusion of technology into our lives. And it is just that .. an intrusion. We need to learn to adopt the divide between tech and life. Just because technology exists doesn’t mean we have to shoe-horn it into every day lives – especially if it is to the detriment of our privacy. We all need to learn to have down-days. Non-tech days … and if you don’t know the answer to a problem, instead of Googling it … use this method:

  • Brain – think about it, work out the options and the theory.
  • Book – read it in a book, they are more than paperweights !
  • Buddy – ask a friend, a colleague … the meat space !
  • Boss – ask a person in authority, your boss, a department head, a lecturer, they generally got there by knowing something !

Freedom of digital access, movement and speech

Should I be allowed to write what I want ? What about offending someone or prejudice ? Should I be restricted in what I can/can’t say ? I think this comes down to an old skill that we seem to have forgotten with the advent of technology – the art of common sense. So I would like to introduce you to Gran’s law. Think about an elderly relative (a Grand-parent for example). Now go ahead and type your real feelings about something you feel passionate about. If your Gran were to read it, would she be offended, clip you round the ear, would she be horrified about it … if the answer is yes, then it is probably best to keep it off the internet ! Common sense can save you a lot of conversations later. You should not be thinking about your intended audience but that the internet sees all.

 

What are your thoughts ? Have you posted on the Digital Freedom site ?

 

Leave a Reply

